TMC Logo
: President
: President
: 08/12/2019
: 08/12/2019
: 08/12/2020

University Committee Policy

Comment on Policy


This policy applies to the entire Thomas More Community.


University Committees help provide direction for the University to achieve operational and strategic goals.  The Policy on University Committees prescribes how University Committees are established, maintained, and dissolved. 


University Committee – A University Committee

Standing University Committee – A Standing University Committee addresses an ongoing significant or strategic issue

Special or Ad hoc University Committee – A Special or Ad hoc University Committee is appointed as needed to deal with a specific and nonrecurring issue and is discharged with the completion of their report


Section 1: Establishment of University Committees

The President approves the creation of university committees.  Members of the President’s Cabinet provide the President with recommendations concerning the composition and charge for each committee.  The President oversees the committee or assigns a designee, typically a Vice President, the Provost, or other administrator.   The President or designee establishes the charge, selects a Committee Chair, and determines the composition of the committee based on employee preference and position.

The Faculty is entitled to voting representation on all university committees whose activities fall within the areas of Faculty involvement as described in the Faculty Constitution.  Faculty appointments to university committees are governed by the Faculty Constitution.  Staff members are appointed at the approval of the area Vice President or Provost.  Student Government Association will recommend student representatives to be approved by the Dean of Students.

Section 2: Standing University Committees

Section 3: Maintenance of University Committees

The President or designee is responsible for maintenance of the university committee.  A general principle of member rotation should be maintained.  The President or designee may establish subcommittees at the recommendation of the Committee Chair.  At the end of each academic year, each university committee submits an annual report to the President or designee.  The annual report must also be submitted to university archives according to university procedure.

Section 4: Dissolution of University Committees

Standing University Committees may be dissolved by the President at the recommendation of the Committee Chair or designee.  Special or Ad hoc University Committees are dissolved upon completion of the charge and submission of a final report.  The President reserves the right to postpone, deny, or dissolve a university committee at any time with reasonable purpose and notice.


Faculty Constitution


The Committee Chair must submit a University Committee Charge form to the President or designee to finalize the establishment of the University Committee.  A copy will also be submitted to university archives according to university procedure.





Supersedes Policy

Summarize Change

August 12, 2019

University Committee Policy

Addition of Athletic Compliance Committee

November 26, 2018

University Committee Policy

Finalization of Standing University Committees and added charges to the appendix

July 30, 2018


This is a new policy


Athletic Compliance Committee Charge, approved August 12, 2019

Catholic Identity Committee Charge, approved November 26, 2018

Compliance Committee Charge, approved May 11, 2020

Crisis Management Team Charge, approved April 15, 2019

Enrollment Management Council, approved December 17, 2018 

Graduate and Adult Programs Steering Committee Charge, approved November 26, 2018

Internal User Group Charge, approved November 26, 2018

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee Charge, approved November 26, 2018

Institutional Assessment Committee Charge, approved April 2, 2020

Institutional Review Board Charge, approved November 26, 2018

Marketing Committee

Student Threat Assessment and Risk Management Team Charge, approved November 26, 2018


President Joseph Chillo, August 12, 2019